Smocking on Baird McNutt Irish Linen

I’ve been enjoying doing a little English smocking on Irish linen. It’s been a while since I’ve had this pleasure, and this is my first try on Irish linen, which is lovely to work with and touch.

A few years ago, I took a correspondence course with the Smocking Arts Guild of America on “Advanced Stitches”, that is stitches that are less often published. This course encouraged the use of stitches that are rarely seen, such as the Cretan, honeycomb, and herringbone stitches and variations of those stitches. It also encouraged the art of creating your own smocking design. I am young in my abilities with this art, but I’m having fun.

September 2 2014 013

This piece is smocked, but unblocked, and of course, unfinished. It’s a little unnerving for me to post unfinished projects, but a friend recently encouraged that people love to see things in progress, so I am sharing my work in progress.

Often, it is said, a piece should have one distinct focal point. I am still thinking through the English smocking. Should I add a little embroidery or keep it simple, which is my taste? I am a fan of the contrast between blue and white.

This is an over-blouse intended for my nine-year-old daughter. It is the “Ainsley” pattern by Children’s Corner. I have a second front piece pleated. It will have only white on white work with the surface honeycomb stitch, as my daughter needs an all-white blouse for a choir requirement this year. The Baird McNutt Foyle white linen with blue smocking is my diversion from working only black on black or white on white.

Leave a Reply

