More Favorite Things

Today was the Smocking meeting in Richfield.  I drove 1 1/2 hours to meet with 20 some ladies who share a common interest; sewing for children.  It is a great time, every time.  There were two ladies (Kathy M. and Maria L.)  who completed the adorable organdy and linen dress following the Wendy Schoen workshop, held in April this year.  The rest of us were in awe.  I will share pictures when they become available.

After the meeting, everyone skedaddled quickly.  I had hopes of going to lunch with someone, but that was okay.  I decided to drive to the Oxboro Library and check out the Smocking display that was organized by Lynn S.  It is a wonderful selection of Smocking and Heirloom Sewing samples; some finished items and some in progress.  There are also several books on the subject on display as well.  If you have time and are in proximity to the Oxboro Library in the next few weeks of May, I highly recommend you stop by:  8801 Portland Ave S  Bloomington, MN 55420

It’s a challenge to capture the detail of these items, but here are a few pictures I captured today.

0518131322

0518131319

0518131321a

0518131315

Stop by, take your time, enjoy the beauty of the needle arts.  Notice the ribbon embroidery, lattice smocking, heirloom sewing techniques, picture and geometric smocking.

Knowing that my family would be delayed in getting home from their Spring work day at a youth camp, I took my time during my drive back home.   Ironically, it was a 1 1/2 hour drive to the meeting, but a 3 hour drive home (figure that!).  A friend mentioned a fabric store in Cannon Falls, Minnesota, called Fourth & Main, located on my way home.  Also in Cannon Falls is a great yarn shop, What in Yarnation.  Both are worth the stop.  I found quality buttons at the yarn shop, not to mentioned lots of beautiful yarn and inspiring samples of knitted goods.  The fabric store carries lots of quilting fabrics; AND, they have a small section of Pima batiste and a few woolens from B. Blacks & Sons.  Both stores are within a block from each other.  Cannon Falls is a sweet town.

It’s gorgeous in Minnesota right now.  My drive from the Cities takes me through rolling Minnesota farm country and then back into the Zumbro River Valley.  All the farmers are preparing the fields and working to get the seed in the ground.  It’s that time of the year.

3 thoughts on “More Favorite Things

  1. What a lovely library display that is! i wish I lived near enough to see it in person. Thanks for sharing the photos, Connie.

Leave a Reply

