Workshop Review

I had a great time this weekend at the Tickle Me Pink Workshop with Wendy Schoen, held at the Textile Center in Minneapolis.  It was a pleasure to meet Wendy and spend two eight-hour days in class with her.

The focus of the class was to create this nine-month-sized dress.  The dress is made of sheer Italian cotton organdy.  The little applique hearts and the scalloped hem are created with Ulster linen.

Wendy shared the techniques she has developed to create this stunning little dress.

tickle_me_pink_lg

Wendy taught how to create the little linen heart appliques that, combined with shadow work embroidery, stem stitches and granitos, decorate the bodice and skirt.  A detached applique is free-standing on the top edge and then attached to the base fabric along the bottom of the heart using Point de Paris stitch.  She also covered how to create a buttonhole scalloped edge for the neckline and armscye, how to create delicate hand buttonholes, and how to attach the hem with the Point de Paris stitch.  It was a full two days!

IMGP0134

Wendy shared enjoyable stories of her trips to the Madeiran Islands, where she visited with ladies there who are well-known for this kind of beautiful hand work.

One of my favorite things during the weekend was when Wendy walked through her “trunk show” little dresses with me, telling about the quality level of Ulster linen that she used for each garment.  She had about 20 little dresses with exquisite hand work and made of Ulster linen, pique and batiste.

Another key benefit from attending the class was the opportunity to see how Wendy executes these lovely skills, make an attempt on my own, and then receive her feedback on my first attempts.  Here Wendy Schoen gives me an A+ on my work.

wcw

I appreciate all of the hard work the ladies of the Lakes & Prairies Smockers did over the past year to orchestrate this Workshop.  I owe a huge thank-you to my husband for making it possible for me to attend, and for making the delicious homemade cinnamon rolls.

Of course, I wasn’t the only one who received encouragement (or an A+) from Wendy.  Here are pictures of 17 of my good friends during the Workshop.

Wendy Schoen, of Wendy Schoen Designs, is a well-known national teacher of fine needlework.

One thought on “Workshop Review

Leave a Reply

