Horsing Around

Recently, my girls were introduced to a new website for those who love knitting, Ravelry.com. It’s a place to share patterns and connect with suppliers of yarn, patterns and notions. My girls now have a circle of their knitting friends there with which they connect, share ideas, and send fun notes to each other.

Hannah found this delightful pattern, Pferde-Mütze, by German writer Pim Roth, and made a wool version for a friend. Here is a link to her free pattern chart. Even if you do not speak German or knit, it is worth it to take a look at Pim’s website.

Hannah found the wool yarn she preferred through Mary Lue’s Yarn & Ewe in Mankato.

dec 7, 2012 003

The yarn is Rustic Tweed by Queensland, which contains 63% Wool, 27% Alpaca and 10% Donegal.

dec 7, 2012 005

I suppose I like this hat so much because it brings back memories of my childhood, horsing around.

3 thoughts on “Horsing Around

  1. Janice Ferguson said: “My oh my! I have knitted all my life, from Norwegian ski sweaters to fisherman knit patterns. So I know this horse pattern is not easy. What accomplished knitters your girls are! It is just wonderful to hear that there is a group of young ladies developing this skill, spending their time and energy on such a wholesome, creative activity. Kudos for the Perry girls.”

    Janice–I’m sorry you’re having difficulty with making a post on my blog… I will look into it.

    I appreciate your comment, Janice. I am glad for them that they are seeing how rewarding working with their hands in this way is. We continue to learn! —Connie Perry

  2. What a beautiful family you have, Connie! I have enjoyed browsing through your December posts and I am so impressed with the skill levels that your girls have attained in so many of the needle arts. That heirloom lace and smocking confection that your oldest daughter made for her sister is just stunning. Thank you for teaching your daughters these special arts and for sharing all your work with those who read your blog.

Leave a Reply

