Emma’s Fairy Dress, by Cyndy

My granddaughter Emma’s bedroom is decorated with all kinds of fairy pictures. So when I saw this Mary Cicely Baker autumn fairy print fabric in the Home Sew catalog, I knew I had to make a dress for Emma using it.

I made the top of the outfit using the Children’s Corner “Bessie” pattern. I used the butterfly sleeve pattern to fashion her ‘fairy wings’ out of organza. The pants pattern is Simplicity #4203, but any pants pattern will do. I altered Newlook pattern #6687 for the hat by elongating the crown pieces and eliminating the ruffle.

After adding a padded green leaf to the top of the crown, this hat resembles the hat on one of the fairies in the print.

I created the smocking design using cable and wave stitches, and adding flowerettes to the centers of the diamonds.

As you can see, Emma looks adorable in it!

Cyndy lives in Hastings, Minnesota, and is a member of the Lakes & Prairies chapter of the Smocking Arts Guild of America.

Leave a Reply

