One Fine Day

It’s amazing how fast our kids grow. I’m reminded of that each time I finish a dress for my daughter, Rachel.

This is my variation of Australian Smocking & Embroidery’s One Fine Day from Issue No. 72 in Fabric Finder’s “bouquet of pansies” lawn. The smock design is an original by, well, me!

Somewhere in a Martha Pullen publication, I read that it was a tradition to layer a girl’s clothing such that a slip with a color would shadow through a lightweight dress. We thought this was a fun idea, and Rachel wears this dress with a pink slip below it.

Leave a Reply

